Australian Government


Diane Smith-Gander

Non-Executive Director
AGL Energy and Wesfarmers

Diane Smith-Gander is a non-executive director of AGL Energy, Wesfarmers Limited, Chair of Safe Work Australia and a director of CEDA.

She is also Immediate Past President of Chief Executive Women - Australia’s preeminent women’s advocacy group.  CEW represents Australia’s most senior women leaders from the corporate, public service, academic and not-for-profit sectors.  A  passionate believer in the imperative for gender equity, Diane is committed to diversity and inclusion for everyone.

Diane completed her executive career in the C-suite at Westpac Banking Corporation.  She was also a partner at McKinsey & Company in the USA and is now a Senior Advisor to McKinsey in Australia.  She returned to her home town of Perth in 2008 to pursue a portfolio career.

Diane’s former roles include chairman of the Australian Sports Drug Agency, deputy chairman of NBNCo, non-executive director of CBH Group and Commissioner of Tourism WA.

Diane holds an MBA from the University of Sydney, a Bachelor of Economics from the University of Western Australia (UWA) and received an honorary doctorate of Economics from UWA in 2015.  Diane serves on the Advisory Board of the Business School at UWA and on the Council of Methodist Ladies College in Perth.  She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and of the Governance Institute of Australia.